ASAP: Alliance for Substance Abuse Progress in Bartholomew County


Jeff Jones, Executive Director– Jeff serves as Executive Director for ASAP. He oversees the initiative, advising the work of the four action teams and their associated projects. Jeff retired from Cummins Inc. in 2014 after a 37-year career in a variety of field service, sales and marketing roles with customers, dealers and OEM partners throughout the United States and Canada.

Beth Morris, Prevention Action Team Lead, Director of Community Health Partnerships, Columbus Regional Health – Beth leads the Prevention Action Team, working with employers, the educational system, social service organizations and mental health services. Her role at CRH is improving and promoting a healthy environment, activities and habits across Bartholomew County through the various initiatives within Healthy Communities.

Judge Kelly S. Benjamin, Intervention Action Team Lead, Bartholomew County Circuit Court – Judge Benjamin leads the ASAP Intervention Action Team, which analyzes, researches and coordinates evidence-based processes and programs between law enforcement, the court system and government. As Circuit Court Judge, Benjamin hears and decides cases involving criminal felonies (including drug cases), family law, estates and civil law, while remaining involved in court-related community efforts, committees and trainings.

Julie Abedian, Treatment Action Team Lead, Vice President – CRH Community Partnerships and Corporate Responsibility – Julie leads the ASAP Treatment Action Team, coordinating efforts with health stakeholders, behavioral health provider Centerstone, employers and others. At CRH, Julie leads the development of community partnerships and resources in support of the hospital’s strategic priorities. She also leads the hospital’s corporate social responsibility initiatives and investments to advance CRH’s mission to the communities it serves.

Dr. Kevin Terrell, DO, MBA, Physician Lead for Community Programs, VP of Medical Management at SIHO and CRH Emergency Physician – Kevin works with the Treatment Action Team. The focus of his initial work is to work with the community’s prescribers to be effective stewards of opioid medications. At CRH, he works as an emergency physician to care for the community’s ill and injured patients.

Cheryl Buffo, Community Programs Lead – CRH Community Partnerships – Cheryl is a member of the ASAP Treatment Action Team, specifically coordinating ASAP’s efforts around local residential treatment capacity for men, women and adolescents. Cheryl brings to the team extensive experience in community development, business planning, finance and project management.

Scott Hundley, Recovery Programs Team Lead, Director of Counseling at Community Downtown/Community Church of Columbus – As the Recovery Programs Team lead, Scott is working to coordinate and enhance local efforts for those in recovery. Scott is a Board Certified Counselor and provides oversight of the various initiatives through Community Downtown such as counseling, support groups, contractual agreements for numerous local churches and the local Celebrate Recovery programs.

Ben Jackson, Housing Team Lead, Columbus Township Trustee – Ben leads the Housing Team, working with the local recovery community to coordinate efforts to establish safe, supportive, recovery-focused housing for those in need. As the Columbus Township Trustee, Ben is responsible, among other things, for providing basic necessities for those who lack the resources to provide for themselves. In recent years, he has led the Columbus community’s efforts to make homelessness rare, brief and nonrecurring.

Nathan Walsh, MA, LMHCA, ASAP Hub Manager Manager – Nathan develops and manages the ASAP Hub location.  An award-winning student receiving his MA in Mental Health Counseling at Indiana University, Nathan received his BA in Psychology from Indiana University, receiving a $1,500 grant from the office of student research for his work on teenage substance abuse and the ostracism teenagers endure as result of their abstinence from illicit substances. Nathan also received the Outstanding Student in Psychology award in 2012.  Since graduation, Nathan has worked with individuals suffering from severe mental illness while providing individual, family, substance abuse and marriage counseling. Nathan has worked in collaboration with the Bartholomew County Substance Abuse Council as a facilitator for the Desperate Households convention held annually in Columbus IN and received an $1,800 grant from the Jackson County Drug Free Council for his continued work in substance abuse recovery. Nathan believes in a strengths-based approach to therapy and utilizes cognitive behavioral therapy to help facilitate personal growth through cognitive restructuring.

Tara T Todd, Health Systems Navigator – Tara T Todd graduated from Franklin College in 2012 with a Liberal Arts degree in Biology and minor in Sociology. She has worked in the Healthcare field for almost a decade and has been a Certified Indiana Navigator since 2017. Tara currently is ASAP’s Health Systems Navigator, helping clients apply for insurance and connecting people with resources within the community. She is a Columbus City resident who enjoys spending her free time with family and friends, and loves trying out new cultural cuisines.

Tracey Clark, LSS Green Belt, Volunteer Services Manager – Tracey Clark comes with over 10 years’ experience in volunteer management with the Department of Army.  Tracey is a former active duty Marine, a Certified Lean Six Sigma Green Belt and is currently pursuing a BA in Psychology and PMP certification. She is the recipient of the Dr. Mary E. Walker military award for volunteer service.

Matthew Neville, Operations & Communications Manager – Matthew develops and executes the communications strategy for ASAP, including website development and management, digital marketing campaigns and media relations, as well as handles the Operations needs, including Finance, IT, HR, etc. He has a Bachelor of Science in History and Political Science from University of Southern Indiana.

Last modified on Wednesday, 12 June 2019 13:49